PyDev of the Week: Adrienne Tacke

PyDev of the Week: Adrienne Tacke

This week we welcome Adrienne Tacke (@AdrienneTacke) as our PyDev of the Week! Adrienne is the author of Coding for Kids: Python: Learn to Code with 50 Awesome Games and Activities and her book came out earlier this year. You can see what Adrienne is up to on Instagram or via her website. Let’s take some time to get to know her better!

Can you tell us a little about yourself (hobbies, education, etc):

 

I’m a software engineer in Las Vegas and have a degree in Management Information Systems from UNLV. I’ve worked in the education and healthcare industries and now focus on building awesome things in the fintech space. I love learning new languages (spoken and programming), eating every dessert imaginable, traveling the world with my husband, and finding ways to encourage more young girls and women to try out a career as a software engineer.

 

Why did you start using Python?

 

I truly began using the language when I started writing my book Coding for Kids: Python. It was a simple language that allowed me to focus on the programming concepts versus the syntax which is important for anyone new to coding.

 

What other programming languages do you know and which is your favorite?

 

My main languages are C# and JavaScript. I use these everyday for work. My first language was vb.net *blushes*. I don’t really have a favorite language, but I do strongly believe in some principles. These include separation of concerns, reusability, human-readable > machine-readable code, and clean code and design.

 

 

Thanks for doing the interview, Adrienne!

 

The post PyDev of the Week: Adrienne Tacke appeared first on The Mouse Vs. The Python.

from The Mouse Vs. The Python http://bit.ly/2X2gQAs

Leave a comment